DEUTSCH

Katharina Nicola Giegling

Born 1985 in Heilbronn, Germany, Katharina Giegling is a charismatic and passionate Violinist. She possesses the versatility to move between orchestra music, chamber music, and as a soloist. This also transfers into her abilities in both the jazz and baroque violin.

Katharina holds an artistic performance and artistic Master’s degree, graduated with a degree as a Soloist and is a qualified music teacher. Her studies in Freiburg and Leipzig were supported by Prof. Gottfried von der Goltz, Prof. Friedemann Wezel and Prof. Carolin Widmann. Furthermore, she received valuable musical inspiration from Eckart Runge (Artemis Quartet), Benjamin Zander (Boston Philharmonic), Heime Müller, and also through her collaborations with Kent Nagano, Duncan Ward and Ivor Bolton, among others.

As the violinist of Trio Pierrot, Katharina Giegling won a scholarship for the Federal Selection of Young Artists’ Concerts at the finale of the German Music Competition. She was also awarded by the Council of the Freiburg Music Conservatory, a distinction that included a live concert on Deutschlandradio, the second prize at the Federal German competition “Jugend Musiziert”, and performance opportunities as soloist at “live music now”.

Katharina has worked as a freelance violinist with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra Heilbronn, the Bremen German Chamber Philharmonic, the Potsdam Chamber Academy, the Cologne Chamber Orchestra, the Leipzig Chamber Orchestra, musica assoluta,Hanover and the Treppenhaus Orchestra Hanover. She performed as a soloist in the Beethoven Romances with the Romanian State Philharmonic Orchestra in Zurich and gave guest performances as soloist in Vivaldi’s Four Seasons in Zurich, in the Master’s project “Lifetimes – the Seasons by Vivaldi and Piazzolla”, as well as Bach’s Double Concerto with the Halle Chamber Academy.

On an international level Katharina was a member and concertmaster with soloist obligations in the Young German Philharmonic Orchestra, in which she participated in concerts throughout Europe, USA and Mexico under conductors such as Kent Nagano, Christopher Moulds, Andrey Boreyko, Sylvain Cambreling and Susanna Mälkki.

In Boston, USA, her centre of life for the past two years, Katharina realised engagements from 2015 until Summer 2017 as concert master for several projects and recordings in the East Coast Scoring Orchestra and the Eureka Ensemble. She also gave concerts as a freelance soloist in Boston, performed a chamber music recital with members of the Boston Philharmonic Orchestra, and gave numerous guest performances in chamber music throughout Boston’s renowned churches and concert halls, e.g. Consulate General of Japan, Boston.

Katharina Giegling taught at the Leipzig Music Academy as part of the Master Class Program, the Music Schools Johann Sebastian Bach and Clara Schumann, the German International School in Boston and the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra.

She is a qualified Vinyasa Yoga teacher which combines her passion for music and education with Yoga classes specifically tailored to musicians. The focus of her classes is on mind and body, the harmony of both, with the aim to support and encourage wellbeing during play, the ability to concentrate and the natural capacity of mental clarity for musicians.

ENGLISH

Katharina Nicola Giegling

„Ihre Musik soll die Menschen berühren…“ Heilbronner Stimme



Katharina Giegling, geboren 1985 in Heilbronn, ist eine charismatische Violinistin, die sich dank ihrer musikalischen Leidenschaft vielseitig zwischen Orchester- und Kammermusik, als Solistin und zwischen Jazz-und Barockvioline bewegt.

Ihre Studien in Freiburg und Leipzig im Fach „Diplom Musiklehrerin, Künstlerische Ausbildung, Künstlerischer Master und Meisterklasse“ wurden von Prof. Gottfried von der Goltz, von Prof. Friedemann Wezel und Prof. Carolin Widmann gefördert. Darüber hinaus erhielt sie wertvolle Impulse von Eckart Runge (Artemis Quartett), Benjamin Zander (Boston Philharmonic), Heime Müller u.a., sowie durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Kent Nagano, Duncan Ward, Ivor Bolton u.a.

Beim Deutschen Musikwettbewerb gewann Katharina Giegling als Violinistin mit dem Trio Pierrot im Finale ein Stipendium für die Bundesauswahl Konzerte Junger Künstler. Katharina konzertierte als Solo Stipendiatin von „live music now“ und wurde mit dem Preis des Hochschulrates der Musikhochschule Freiburg mit einem Live-Konzert im Deutschlandradio ausgezeichnet sowie dem 2. Bundespreis bei “Jugend Musiziert”.

Katharina Giegling ist freischaffend engagiert vom Württembergischen Kammerorchester Heilbronn, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, der Kammerakademie Potsdam, dem Kölner Kammerorchester, dem Leipziger Kammerorchester und dem Treppenhausorchester Hannover. Darüber hinaus liegt Katharinas Schwerpunkt in ihrer Tätigkeit beim Kammerorchester musica assoluta in Hannover. Als Solistin der Beethoven Romanzen trat Katharina mit der Rumänischen Staatsphilharmonie in Zürich auf und gastierte als Solistin der Vier Jahreszeiten von Vivaldi in Zürich, im Masterprojekt “Lebenszeiten – die Jahreszeiten von Vivaldi und Piazzolla” wie auch in Bachs Doppelkonzert mit der Kammerakademie Halle. Auf internationaler Ebene war Katharina Giegling Mitglied und Konzertmeisterin mit solistischer Funktion in der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie mit Konzerten innerhalb Europas, in den USA und Mexiko, u.a. unter Kent Nagano, Christopher Moulds, Andrey Boreyko, Sylvain Cambreling und Susanna Mälkki.

Katharina lebte und arbeitete für zwei Jahre in Boston/USA. Von 2015 bis Sommer 2017 nahm Katharina Engagements als Konzertmeisterin für mehrere Projekte und Aufnahmen im East Coast Scoring Orchestra sowie Eureka! Ensemble wahr. Sie konzertierte in Boston freischaffend solistisch und kammermusikalisch in renommierten Kirchen und Konzertsälen der Stadt, u.a. dem Japanisches Generalkonsulat Boston, und gab Kammermusikkonzerte mit Mitgliedern des Boston Philharmonic Orchestra. Als Diplom Musiklehrerin lehrte Katharina an der Musikhochschule Leipzig im Rahmen des Meisterklassenstudiums, den Musikschulen in Leipzig Johann Sebastian und Clara Schumann, der German International School in Boston und dem Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra.

Katharina ist qualifizierte Vinyasa Yoga Lehrerin und verbindet ihre Leidenschaft zur Musik und zur Pädagogik mit Yoga Klassen speziell für Musiker. Im Fokus stehen Körper und Geist, der Einklang beider, um das Wohlbefinden während des Spiels, die Konzentrationsfähigkeit und die mentale Kapazität von Musikern zu unterstützen und zu fördern.